Beautiful Bad

Beautiful Bad

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
"Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read." --Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Anonymous Girl

"The ending will leave you staggered." --Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

In the tradition of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train comes the psychological thriller everyone is talking about, a twisted novel about a devoted wife, a loving husband, and a chilling crime that will stun even the cleverest readers.

There are two sides to every story... And every person.

Maddie and Ian's love story began with a chance encounter at a party overseas, while she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian; her concerns for the safety of their young son; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.

From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.
Publisher: Toronto, Ontario : Park Row Books, 2019.
ISBN: 9781488099595
Branch Call Number: Downloadable Ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: HCPLC OverDrive - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
babbette51
May 25, 2019

I usually don"t like books that jump around chronologically, but the short chapters help the reader keep track of the characters & action.
I found it hard to put down and engrossing...the Eastern Europe lifestyle for the young bodyguard Brits & female Americans during war and unrest was fascinating.
I only actually read about 1/3 of the books that I get out of the library... can't get into most of them.
This book was a winner!

n
nannianni
May 21, 2019

I find the jumping from today, then back X years, then to today, etc. to be confusing. Not a good style. Could have been an interesting read otherwise.

a
Amyjo30
Apr 16, 2019

I really wanted to like this book but I had a hard time with the transitions and found my self asking, “who is that?” Anyways, I thought it was an okay book- I did like the ending as it was not what I expected and it was a good surprise.

IndyPL_LindsayH Mar 28, 2019

Nothing is always the way it seems. This chilling tale takes you from war torn Eastern Europe to the heartland of America. It`s part love story, part hate story. Beautiful Bad is full of twists and turns that will definitely make you think.

TSCPL_Miranda Mar 17, 2019

Once I started this book, I couldn't get my head out of it until I was finished. Twisty, sharp, and unpredictable. I thought I had the whole thing figured out near the end, then it twisted one more time. Unreliable characters, shifting perspectives and timelines, and a really well-written story. Fans of The Woman in the Window, The Couple Next Door, and Girl on the Train will enjoy this one--I liked it even better than any of those.
Bonus: Part of the book is set in Kansas, and author Annie Ward lives in Overland Park.

d
darladoodles
Feb 22, 2019

This atmospheric, gritty thriller will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Jessica Strawser and AJ Finn. Our main character is Maddie. She is married to Ian and they have a three-year-old son names CharlieThe author uses her trips to a therapist to show us her inmost thoughts through exercises like writing letters to old friends (Joanna), describing memorable photos, etc. The reader then feels like they are getting a reliable read on the whole situation . . . or are they? This is a haunting story that takes you on a bit of globetrotting (Bulgaria, Macedonia, Iraq and more), but the home base right next door near Overland Park -- another reason local Flynn fans will enjoy this one. I think the tale was a bit too winding when dealing with how Maddie and Ian finally get together, thus taking one star off my review.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HCPLC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top